Publications

Error message

  • User warning: The following module is missing from the file system: flickapi. In order to fix this, put the module back in its original location. For more information, see the documentation page. in _drupal_trigger_error_with_delayed_logging() (line 1128 of /var/www/main/includes/bootstrap.inc).
  • Strict warning: Declaration of activity_comments_handler_field_comments::init() should be compatible with views_handler::init(&$view, &$options) in require_once() (line 79 of /var/www/main/sites/all/modules/activity/activity_comments/views/activity_comments.views.inc).

Publications

Expression du gène de poivre doux Hrap la banane améliore la résistance à Xanthomonas campestris pv. musacearum

Leena Tripathi, Henry Mwaka, Jaindra Nath Tripathi et Wilberforce Kateera Tushemereirwe

Molecular Plant Pathology - Volume 11, Issue 6, pages 721-731, Novembre 2010

Banana Xanthomonas wilt (BXW), causé par la bactérie Xanthomonas campestris pv. musacearum, est la maladie la plus dévastatrice de la banane dans la région des Grands Lacs d'Afrique. Propagation rapide de l'agent pathogène a menacé le gagne-pain de millions d'Africains qui dépendent de la banane pour la sécurité alimentaire et des revenus. La maladie est très destructrice, infectant toutes les variétés de bananes, y compris les bananes Afrique de l'Est des Highlands et des types exotiques de bananes. En l'absence de résistance de la plante hôte naturelle parmi les cultivars de bananier, l'expression constitutive de l'hypersensibilité de réponse en aidant protéines (Hrap) gène de poivron (Capsicum annuum) a été évalué pour sa capacité à conférer une résistance au BXW. Lignées transgéniques exprimant le gène Hrap sous le contrôle du promoteur constitutif CaMV 35S ont été générés à l'aide de suspensions cellulaires embryogènes de deux cultivars de bananiers: «Sukali Ndiizi» et «Mpologoma». Ces lignes ont été caractérisés par analyse moléculaire, et ont été exposés à Xanthomonas campestris pv. musacearum d'analyser l'efficacité de la majorité againstBXW.The Hrap gène de lignées transgéniques (six sur huit) exprimant Hrap ne présentant aucun symptôme de l'infection après l'inoculation artificielle des plantes en pot sous abri grillagé, tandis que les plantes non transgéniques de contrôle ont montré des symptômes graves qui peuvent résulter en toute flétrissement. Cette étude démontre que l'expression constitutive du gène Hrap poivron dans les résultats de la banane dans une résistance accrue aux BXW.We décrire le développement de variétés de bananes transgéniques résistantes au BXW, ce qui renforcera l'arsenal disponible pour lutter contre cette épidémie et sauver les moyens d'existence de la la région des Grands Lacs d'Afrique centrale et orientale.

Cliquez ici pour Sommaire

Droit d'auteur © 2012 | Tous droits réservés, Africaine de Technologie Agricole (AATF-Africa)

Alimenté par Blue Eyes Ltd

Publications

Error message

  • User warning: The following module is missing from the file system: flickapi. In order to fix this, put the module back in its original location. For more information, see the documentation page. in _drupal_trigger_error_with_delayed_logging() (line 1128 of /var/www/main/includes/bootstrap.inc).
  • Strict warning: Declaration of activity_comments_handler_field_comments::init() should be compatible with views_handler::init(&$view, &$options) in require_once() (line 79 of /var/www/main/sites/all/modules/activity/activity_comments/views/activity_comments.views.inc).

Expression of sweet pepper Hrap gene in banana enhances resistance to Xanthomonas campestris pv. musacearum

Leena Tripathi, Henry Mwaka, Jaindra Nath Tripathi and Wilberforce Kateera Tushemereirwe

Molecular Plant Pathology – Volume 11, Issue 6, pages 721–731, November 2010

Banana Xanthomonas wilt (BXW), caused by the bacterium Xanthomonas campestris pv. musacearum, is the most devastating disease of banana in the Great Lakes region of Africa. The pathogen’s rapid spread has threatened the livelihood of millions of Africans who rely on banana fruit for food security and income. The disease is very destructive, infecting all banana varieties, including both East African Highland bananas and exotic types of banana. In the absence of natural host plant resistance among banana cultivars, the constitutive expression of the hypersensitivity response-assisting protein (Hrap) gene from sweet pepper (Capsicum annuum) was evaluated for its ability to confer resistance to BXW. Transgenic lines expressing the Hrap gene under the regulation of the constitutive CaMV35S promoter were generated using embryogenic cell suspensions of two banana cultivars: ‘Sukali Ndiizi’ and ‘Mpologoma’. These lines were characterized by molecular analysis, and were challenged with Xanthomonas campestris pv. musacearum to analyse the efficacy of the Hrap gene againstBXW.The majority of transgenic lines (six of eight) expressing Hrap did not show any symptoms of infection after artificial inoculation of potted plants in the screenhouse, whereas control nontransgenic plants showed severe symptoms resulting in complete wilting. This study demonstrates that the constitutive expression of the sweet pepper Hrap gene in banana results in enhanced resistance to BXW.We describe the development of transgenic banana varieties resistant to BXW, which will boost the arsenal available to fight this epidemic disease and save livelihoods in the Great Lakes region of East and Central Africa.

Click here for Summary

Copyright © 2012 | All Rights Reserved, African Agricultural Technology Foundation (AATF-Africa)

Powered by Blue Eyes Ltd